• This is just a showcase, without an order-function. In your country our collection is available at your local bugatti retailer.
No. 2
The bugatti story

The bugatti story

Memorable moments

The founding of the company

Friedrich Wilhelm Brinkmann and his wife Margot

On 1 January 1947, Friedrich Wilhelm Brinkmann founded a garment manufacturing business for women’s and men’s wear in Löhne, near Herford, Germany. Its success made it possible to launch the company’s first own collection of coats and trousers only a year later.

To pastures new

The company grew fast and already employed 100 people in 1950. The production facilities were stretched to capacity, so the company moved to Bad Oeynhausen. The company continued to grow rapidly over the next three years. In 1953, it already employed 260 people and therefore had to move yet again.

The company moved to a new head office in Herford, where it is still headquartered today. In 1961, the company Lord Italia SRL was founded in Pergine near Trento as a manufacturing company and sales agency for the Italian market. The production output and also its sales increased rapidly. Italy became the most important export market.

The 1970s and 1980s

KLAUS, WOLFGANG AND FRIEDRICH WILHELM BRINKMANN (F.L.)

The bugatti brand was launched in 1978. Six years later, the first bugatti advertisement aimed at end consumers was introduced. In 1986, bugatti entered into its first collaboration, with Gore-Tex. That same year, Klaus and Wolfgang Brinkmann took over the running of the group of companies, joining their father.

The 1990s

bugatti learns to walk - In 1991, the bugatti brand entered foreign territory by going into the licensed product business. The first license granted was for shoes. A year later, the product portfolio was again expanded.  The founder of the company, Friedrich Wilhelm Brinkmann, passed away in September 1994; his sons Wolfgang and Klaus took over the running of the business.

They initiated the licensed product business - the portfolio now also included suit jackets.

The third generation

Markus, Thorsten, Lena and Julius Brinkmann (f.l.)

In 2000, bugatti exhibited its collection for the first time at the Pitti Uomo show in Florence. From its site in Mönchengladbach, the company started to expand its collection of trousers in 2001. In 2011, bugatti launched its first women’s wear collection and changed the company name from F.W. Brinkmann GmbH to bugatti GmbH. In 2012, Wolfgang Brinkmann’s children Thorsten and Markus and Klaus Brinkmann’s children, Julius and Lena, were made official co-owners of bugatti Holding Brinkmann GmbH & Co. KG. The company also moved to its new head office at the Herford headquarters in 2012.

The present

The first bugatti store based on the new brand and design concept opened in 2014. Fashion and lifestyle are now one. In 2016, the bugatti online shop and the company website were redesigned. Both now look more modern.

Magazin
  • bugatti-fashion.com / magazin
Entdecke die Vielfalt von bugatti

discover the diversity of bugatti

No. 2
Die Geschichte von bugatti

Die Geschichte
von bugatti

Momente, die bleiben

Die Gründung

Friedrich Wilhelm Brinkmann mit Ehefrau Margot

Friedrich Wilhelm Brinkmann gründet am 1. Januar 1947 in Löhne bei Herford eine Lohnkonfektion für Damen- und Herrenbekleidung. Der Erfolg lässt zu, dass bereits ein Jahr später die erste eigene Kollektion mit Mänteln und Hosen folgt.

Auf zu neuen Ufern

Das Unternehmen wächst schnell und beschäftigt bereits im Jahr 1950 100 Mitarbeiter. Die räumlichen Kapazitäten werden knapp, so dass die Firma nach Bad Oeynhausen umzieht. In den folgenden drei Jahren wächst die Firma rasant weiter. 1953 sind bereits 260 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt und ein weiterer Umzug ist unabdingbar.

Der neue Hauptsitz befindet sich nun in Herford, wo sich bis heute die Firmenzentrale befindet. 1961 wird die Firma Lord Italia SRL in Pergine bei Trento als Produktionsbetrieb und Vertriebsgesellschaft für den Markt Italien gegründet. Produktion und Verkauf wachsen schnell. Italien wird zum wichtigsten Exportmarkt.

Die 70er und 80er

KLAUS, WOLFGANG UND FRIEDRICH WILHELM BRINKMANN (V.L.)

1978 wird die Marke bugatti eingeführt. Sechs Jahre später findet die erste bugatti Endverbraucherwerbung statt. Erstmalig gibt es 1986 eine Kooperation zwischen bugatti und Gore-Tex. Im gleichen Jahr übernehmen Klaus und Wolfgang Brinkmann gemeinsam mit ihrem Vater die Leitung der Unternehmensgruppe.

Die 90er Jahre

bugatti lernt Laufen - Die Marke bugatti betritt Neuland und startet mit dem Aufbau des Lizenzgeschäftes 1991. Die erste Lizenz wird für Schuhe vergeben. Ein Jahr später wird die Produktpalette erneut erweitert. Nach dem Tod des Firmengründers Friedrich Wilhelm Brinkmann im September 1994 übernehmen die Söhne Wolfgang und Klaus die gesamte Geschäftsführung des Unternehmens.

Das Lizenzgeschäft startet - Im Portfolio von bugatti sind nun auch Sakkos

Die 3. Generation

Markus, Thorsten, Lena und Julius Brinkmann (v.l.)

Im Jahr 2000 stellt bugatti zum ersten Mal auf der Messe Pitti Uomo in Florenz aus. Der Aufbau der eigenen bugatti Hosenkollektion beginnt 2001 von der Niederlassung in Mönchengladbach aus. 2011 startet bugatti mit der ersten Damenkollektion und firmiert von der F.W. Brinkmann GmbH in die bugatti GmbH um. 2012 werden die Kinder von Wolfgang Brinkmann, Thorsten und Markus, sowie die Kinder von Klaus Brinkmann, Julius und Lena, offiziell Mitgesellschafter der bugatti Holding Brinkmann GmbH & Co. KG. Ebenfalls im Jahr 2012 findet der Einzug in das neue Verwaltungsgebäude am Hauptsitz Herford statt.

Die Gegenwart

2014 eröffnet der erste bugatti Store nach dem neuen Marken- und Designkonzept. Mode und Lifestyle verschmelzen. 2016 erstrahlt der bugatti Online Shop sowie die Webseite in neuer, moderner Optik.

Magazin
  • bugatti-fashion.com / magazin
Entdecke die Vielfalt von bugatti

discover the diversity of bugatti